Daily Archives: August 3, 2012

Back to the Blog

I’m ashamed that I left my blogs unattended all year.  But a lot has happened in the last 13 months.  The day after my last post, my coworker was murdered for reasons yet unknown.  His absence thrust me into a full-time position at work which left very little time to do anything else until I eased into my new responsibilities.  We have a very friendly atmosphere at work and thanks to the support, we all managed to smooth things out in due time.

Having just mentioned that I have less time, it seems curious that I would decide to go back to school.  But I did just that.  Two days ago I started my graduate degree in Library and Information Science at San José State University.  I have to do everything online, of course, since SJSU is in California and I live in Virginia.

Since I graduated from college in 1987, I haven’t gone to school formally, although I dabbled with different things and earned certificates in  medical transcription and  novel writing.  I worked as a substitute teacher for 7 years and I considered getting a teaching degree but the thought of teaching the same thing over and over again didn’t appeal to me.  I didn’t feel like going back and getting a refresher in Architecture but I know I wanted to get a master’s degree.

Getting a job as a library assistant set me on my educational path at last.  I’ve always loved libraries and I enjoy working at ECPI University.  The integration of technology with library science is just what I am looking for  my geek/nerd self.   It wasn’t easy at first.  Customer service is part of the job and we all know how that can be.

As time went by though, it felt very fulfilling to help people find information, and heartwarming to hear their gratitude.  So it wasn’t really hard to make the decision to make this a lifetime career choice.

It has been a year of changes and opportunities and I’ve been crossing out things on my bucket.  I finally plunked the money and went not only to Rome but all over Italy on a whirlwind pilgrimage to about a dozen and a half churches.  My precious dog nearly died but $7000 worth of emergency treatment on four different occasions saved her and she’s with me still.

It’s been a tough year but I have a lot to be thankful for.  And I’m looking forward.  I suppose that is my life’s motto:  Always look forward.

With that said, visitors on my blog can look forward to my musings on a more regular basis.  Till next time!