Cheers to Kate and William!


It’s finally over. Just a few more weeks of people prying into their lives and then they’ll get some peace. Maybe.

I didn’t seem to be excited about this royal wedding like I was when Lady Diana was to marry Prince Charles. Maybe because I was then a girl of sixteen who still dreamt of romance. I thought Kate was a lovely bride but there was something about Diana that I don’t find in her. Or maybe I just so inundated with the publicity to the point of ad nauseum.

Kate’s gown was a bit of a disappointment to me because it didn’t look extraordinary. And the bodice looked so stiff, especially the breast area and it wasn’t flattering. There was no oohs and aahs for me there. She looked beautiful if not a little too made up, maybe for photographs. She was very composed and regal, though. She is an asset to the royal family.

Prince William obviously inherited his mother’s shy demeanor and at one point in the wedding, he was slouching and looking rather sleepy. But during the parade, he and Prince Harry gave such smart salutes, it was awesome. I feel bad that he is losing his hair at such a young age.

The best part of the wedding for me was the sermon by the Archbishop of Canterbury. Dr. Rowan Williams rocks! Best wedding sermon I’ve heard in a while. I’m his newest fan. People need to be reminded what marriage is all about. It’s not easy. I just celebrated my 22nd. The only tip I can share is don’t give up so easily.

My most memorable moment was after the balcony viewing, as William was leading Kate indoors, she looked over her shoulder at the crowd and had the most beautiful smile on her face. I hope someone caught that on camera.

I felt a bit nostalgic, watching these two get married. I still remember when Diana came out of the hospital holding William. She was so young. I wish she was there to witness this event.

The Brits turned out full force, always a pleasure to see. They are the masters of pomp and circumstance and never disappoint!

I watched this all on YouTube courtesy of the BBC. I suspect BBC got special access to areas because I saw scenes where no other news cameras where in. Cheers!

Well, here’s to wishing the couple the best of luck. May their lives be blessed.


One response to “Cheers to Kate and William!

  1. Pingback: HoT NeWs » принц чарльз женится

Leave a Reply

